My Big Fat Greek Spanakopita

15 Feb

I don’t know where I got this idea, but yesterday, I was thinking about how tasty I recall my sister Kristin’s spanakopita being. I decided to try it! I’ve somehow, in my 27 years, never worked with filo sheets before, so it was clearly time to try. The recipe I followed (or rather, lack of recipe) was a medley of Kristin’s advice (obtained while I was driving, so not sure how closely I followed it anyway), and the various recipes found online…

Ingredients

  • 1/2 package filo sheets, frozen
  • 16 oz fresh spinach
  • 2 tbsp. olive oil
  • 1 vidallia onion, chopped
  • 1 handful fresh dill, chopped
  • 1 bunch green onions, chopped
  • 1/3 c. fresh parsley, chopped
  • 1/2 lb. grated meunster cheese
  • 10 oz. crumbled feta cheese
  • 3 eggs
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 1/4 c. unsalted butter

Method

  1. In a deep sautee pan on medium heat, put in 1 tbsp olive oil and half the spinach. Once wilted, put into collander (or sieve) to dry. Repeat with remaining olive oil and spinach. Let all wilted spinach dry, using several pieces of paper towel, pressing into the spinach, to absorb liquid.
  2. In pan, sautee chopped onions with smidgin of olive oil, until glassy. Let cool somewhat.
  3. In a large bowl, mix spinach, onions, dill, parsley, green onions, feta, meunster, and eggs. Mixture should be moist and sticky. Add salt and pepper to taste.
  4. Pre-heat oven to 350. Melt butter in a small microwavable dish. With an 8 x 13 baking pan, use pastry brush to brush butter onto bottom of baking pan. Lift out one sheet of the filo and press onto the bottom. Brush a layer of butter on top. Add another sheet of filo, and repeat until you have 6 sheets of filo.
  5. Add spinach mixture and press down until you have a relatively flat layer. Place a sheet of filo on top, brush on butter. Repeat filo-butter until you have another 6 sheets on top. Brush on final layer on butter (kind of sop it on this time).
  6. Bake for ~30 min or until top sheet is golden brown. Cut into pieces soon after taking out of the oven. Serve warm.

So tasty! The smell kept wafting out of the oven, and was quite delicious. The vidallia onion brings out a sweetness that accentuates the spinach and the sharpness of the feta.

I think I may have cut it into pieces with a crap knife, because the top layers of filo kind of flaked off. I had leftovers for lunch today, and it was excellent. I also plan on freezing some, so I can share the coup with Rafe, once he arrives back from New Haven.

Go spinach!

Leave a Reply

