Oatmeal Raisin Choco Chip Cookies

20 Nov

At home with my folks for pre-Tgiving (going to be with Rafe and his fam for Tgiving proper), and since this year will be an odd one, with my brother in Spain and my father and I in India for X-mas, I think my mom might be a little wistful of the X-mases of yore when we’d all be in town together to bake, cook, and spend time together. I’m trying to help her in the kitchen all I can while I’m here, so that even though we’ll be far, she won’t be too lonely.

We made these cookies this morning, in advance of my brother’s flight to Spain. I wanted to be able to pack him a little something yummy to make him think of us fondly.

Ingredients

  • 3/4 c flour
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • dash salt
  • cinnamon, nutmeg, cardamom to taste
  • 1 stick butter
  • 1/2 c dark brown sugar
  • 1/4 c regular sugar
  • 1 egg
  • dash vanilla
  • 1 1/2 c 1-min oats
  • lots of raisins
  • as many choco chips as you think you deserve

Instructions

  • Pre-heat to 375. Whisk flour, baking soda, spices together.
  • Cream butter and sugars together with an electric beater. Add egg and vanilla. Once combined, add flour mixture (but do not overmix).
  • Mix in oats, raisins, and choco chips by hand.
  • Drop onto baking sheets, remembering always that bigger cookies are better. Bake until slightly golden brown (10-15 min).
Makes ~18 big-ish cookies that are very good with milk.
Leave a Reply

