Cranberry Almond Biscotti

13 May

I don’t know how it happened, but I have become a coffee drinker. I think there is something about the ungodly hour I get into work these days, or the minimal amount of sleep I’m usually running on, that almost requires it. In any case, I thought it might be nice to make biscotti, a little treat to dunk into my coffee… And this worked out great! Hilariously, the last time I tried to make biscotti (pumpkin biscotti), I didn’t twice bake them, and they were way too soft. So this time, I went for crunchy-style by twice baking.

Ingredients

  • 1 3/4 c white flour
  • 1/2 c whole wheat flour
  • 3/4 c sugar
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp nutmeg
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 egg whites
  • 1/2 tbsp almond extract
  • 1/2 tbsp vanilla
  • 1/2 c craisins
  • 2/3 c almond slivers

Method

  • Preheat to 325. Whisk dry ingredients together in medium bowl. Whisk together eggs, egg whites, and extracts together in a separate mixing bowl. Add wet to dry ingredients, but not overmixing, using an electric mixer.
  • Stir in cranberries and almond slivers.
  • Flour a flat surface. Divide dough in half and form each half into a rectangular log a little more than an inch high and ~10 inches long. Place each on cookie sheet and bake for 30 min.
  • Reduce oven to 300. Cut biscotti into 1/2 inch slices and stand upright on cookie sheet and bake for another 20 min. Let cool, store, and try not to eat them all with your first pot of coffee.
Leave a Reply

